Posted: 4 weeks ago

Georgia to Open Borders for 5 Countries Unconditionally from Today

Georgia will open borders unconditionally for 5 countries by decision of Interagency Coordinating Council at this stage. 

As you know, on June 30, the European Union included Georgia in the list of 15 safe countries and issued a recommendation for them to open their borders. Following this recommendation, the government is holding bilateral talks with the relevant EU member states on the opening of the borders.

It is noteworthy that due to the epidemiological situation on the world and on the European continent itself, a number of EU countries, at this stage, have not opened borders at all for citizens of foreign countries, including EU member states. When arriving in a number of countries, it is mandatory to go through a 14-day quarantine with your own funds.

Georgia is also observing the current global picture and is taking appropriate steps to ensure the health of our citizens.

At present, among the countries that have unconditionally opened the border with Georgia, by the decision of the Interagency Coordination Council, Georgia will also open borders with 5 countries after the unconditional opening:

  1. Germany
  2. France
  3. Latvia
  4. Lithuania
  5. Estonia

Citizens / residents of the above 5 countries will be able to visit Georgia only by air.

Before crossing the Georgian border, they must fill in a specially designed electronic form, which must indicate the history of travel during the last 14 days before entering, the location determined during the visit to Georgia, contact information, etc.

With their consent, or if the temperature is exceeded by 37 degrees Celsius at the border, they will be tested for PCR at the airport.