Photo: Lokal
Posted: 1 month ago

Authorized Period of Stay for Foreigners Extended to July 1 Under Circumstances

Following the restrictions caused by the global pandemic, the authorized period of stay for foreign citizens in Georgia has been extended to July 1, 2021, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia reports.

According to the amendments to the Decree of the Government of Georgia N164 of January 28, 2020, foreign citizens without a residency permit who were in the country legally on March 14, 2020, and were not able to leave the country due to the closure of borders may remain until July 1, 2021, with no penalty.

However, their stay on the territory of Georgia must be caused by circumstances related to the global pandemic: a) if they come from the high-risk zone; b) if border crossing is restricted; c) if hospitalized, quarantined or self-isolated; d) if flights are canceled.

The Government of Georgia previously extended the period of exit for foreigners until December 31, 2020, statement b the Ministry of Foreign Affairs reads.