Posted: 1 year ago

Tbilisi Mayor Awarded 20 Honorary Citizens

The awarding ceremony for honorary Tbilisi citizens for 2022 took place in the Palace of State Ceremonies. Kakha Kaladze, the mayor of the city, awarded each of them with a brooch, a certificate, and a symbolic key to Tbilisi.

The mayor of Tbilisi addressed the community gathered at the award ceremony and congratulated the 20 honorary citizens of Tbilisi on their new status.

"Tbilisi and its centuries-old history stand on people who are aware of the responsibility, full of professionalism, work and love for the country.

I am happy that there are many such people by our side, and today I have the honor to once again thank them for what they do, are doing, and will do in the future for our city", said Kakha Kaladze.

Twenty persons gained this status this year: Shalva Amonashvili (scientist, teacher, psychologist); Tengiz Archvadze (actor); Tariel Chanturia (translator, poet); Jemal Ghaganidze (actor); Merab Kokochashvili (film director, teacher); Mindia Ugrekhelidze (lawyer); Vakhtang Javakhadze (poet, writer, translator); Jemal Sefiashvili (composer); Badri Vadachkoria (journalist, photographer); Guram Bekaia (physiologist, scientist); Ilia Kherodinashvili (engineer, scientist); Laura Iashvili (musician, pianist); Revaz Asatiani (engineer-builder); Vakhtang Davitaia (architect, teacher); Maia Gotua (immunologist); Van Bayburts (politician, journalist); Hasan Hasanov (Azerbaijani diplomat); Elizabeth Sombart (French pianist); Eldar Shengelaia (director) and Demna Gvasalia (designer).