Posted: 1 month ago

Germany Opens Borders to Georgian Citizens

Germany will lift restrictions imposed in the country for Georgian visitors due to the COVID-19 pandemic from July 2.

German Foreign Ministry reported that restrictions will be lifted step by step for 11 non-member states of the European Union: Australia, Georgia, Japan, Canada, Montenegro, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China.

With this, the German government is fulfilling the decision of the Council of Europe issued on June 30. The council recommended lifting restrictions for 14 countries. This list will be reviewed every two weeks. In order to alleviate the limitations in the future, the existing indicators of those infected with covid-19 for the last 14 days will be crucial.

On June 30, the Council of the European Union approved the list of so-called Green Countries. Georgia is among the 15 countries with which EU will open borders gradually starting from July 1.