Home / Economy / Georgia-EFTA Free Trade Agreement Comes into Effect

Georgia-EFTA Free Trade Agreement Comes into Effect

On May 1, 2018 the free trade agreement between Georgia and European Free Trade Association (EFTA) came into force with all member countries, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia told the Commersant.

The agreement was put into action with Norway and Iceland on September 1, 2017, while today two other members of the Association, Switzerland and Lichtenstein will also join the agreement.
The agreement enables Georgia to introduce products and services on the 14 million consumer market without tariff barriers.

The agreement covers such fields as: trade in goods; trade in services; sanitation measures; technical barriers in trade; rules of origins, support of trade and cooperation in customs issues; intellectual property; state procurement; competition; protection measures and sustainable development in trade.

Georgia and EFTA sealed the free trade agreement on June 27, 2016, as part of EFTA ministerial in Bern (Switzerland).

Detailed information about products and services covered by EFTA agreement is available on the official website of Ministry of Economy of Georgia: